Stock Number
Regular price
Sale price

Product Description

Brian d'Arcy James, Jason Danieley, Kelli O'Hara, Jessica Molaskey, Victoria Clark, and Jeff McCarthy star in the world premiere recording of Ricky Ian Gordon and Tina Landau's Dream True, conducted by Ted Sperling. Inspired by George du Maurier's 1891 novel Peter Ibbetson, Dream True was originally produced by the Vineyard Theatre in June of 1998, then in an extended run in the spring of 1999. It was subsequently performed in concert in March of 2004 at CooperArts, a contemporary music series produced by Howard Stokar; this recording – with its striking cast of Broadway stars and orchestrations by Jonathan Tunick – is drawn from that performance.

About the Artist

Ricky Ian Gordon (composer) has written scores for My Life With Albertine, with Richard Nelson, at Playwrights Horizons; Only Heaven, his setting of Langston Hughes poetry premiered by Encompass Opera; and The Tibetan Book of the Dead, with Jean Claude Van Itallie at Houston Grand Opera. On March 13th, 2001, at Lincoln Center, he was presented as part of the American Songbook Series. The New York Times wrote, "If the music of Ricky Ian Gordon had to be defined by a single quality, it would be the bursting effervescence infusing songs that blithely blur the lines between art song and the high-end Broadway music of Leonard Bernstein and Stephen Sondheim." Mr. Gordon's songs have been performed and recorded by internationally known singers including Renee Fleming, Dawn Upshaw, Audra McDonald, Kristin Chenoweth, Lorraine Hunt Lieberson, Harolyn Blackwell, and Betty Buckley.
Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Wyoming
  2. We Can Fly
  3. Finding Home
  4. The Way West
  5. The Best Years of Our Lives
  6. A Beautiful Life
  7. He?s Gone
  8. God Is There
  9. Space
  10. Peter?s Dream
  11. Dream True
  12. Have a Nice Day
  13. Best for You
  14. Pride
  15. Wyoming
  16. Hold On
  17. We Will Always Walk Together